Where Are They Now? Claire Harris

I live in Kent with my parents. I was a student at the Orpheus Centre for 3 years from 2015-2018 and lived at Orpheus for my final year.  I particularly enjoyed Music, English and Drama. At Orpheus I learnt to have a can-do attitude. My favourite show to perform in was Lottery Dreams.

 Young woman aged between 20 and 25 with learning disabilities. Smiling while working on an art project with her art teachers support.

Although I left Orpheus as a student two years ago, I have been working there as a Catering Assistant in the canteen, and I really do love it.

I have learnt so much already like how to chop vegetables, learning to take money and building up good relationships with my colleagues. I always have such a good laugh with them and I have really been missing it in lockdown. I had travel training and I had just started doing the journey home from Orpheus independently using dial a ride and the train from Redhill to Tonbridge. I can’t wait to get back to work.

Young woman and man aged between 20 and 25 with learning disabilities. Posing for a photograph working in The Orpheus Centre canteen with head chef.


I am also now on my second and final year with Access All Areas Theatre Company based in London. The course is called the Performance Making Diploma, at The Royal Central School of Speech and Drama and I love it! The course is currently taking place over Zoom and I can’t wait to get back. I still do lots of other acting. I perform in our village pantomimes and also with River Drama and Shakespeare 21.

Finally I am now a published co-author in The British Journal of Learning Disabilities! I went on a Training Course at St George’s Hospital in Tooting and we learned how to do research.

You can read our article here!